Veronica Tsang of Cathay Bank Receives 2017 Ellis Island Medal of Honor

Veronica Tsang of Cathay Bank in the Ellis Island Gallery after being presented with the 2017 Ellis Island Medal of Honor. Photo Credit: Cathay Bank

LOS ANGELES – Veronica Tsang, Executive Vice President and Chief Retail Administrator of Cathay Bank, was presented with the Ellis Island Medal of Honor by the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO) at its 31st annual ceremony held on May 13, 2017, on Ellis Island in New York. This medal recognizes individuals who have made it their mission to share their wealth of knowledge, indomitable courage, boundless compassion, unique talents, and selfless generosity with those less fortunate, all while maintaining the traditions of their ethnic heritage as they uphold the ideals and spirit of America.

“As I read through the list of past honorees, I am humbled but proud to be selected as one of the Ellis Island Medal of Honor recipients by NECO. I am grateful for Cathay Bank’s support of my involvement in the work I do for the community,” Tsang said. “One of my passions is community involvement. My current community activity involvement includes serving as the Vice Chairperson on the board of the Chinese American Planning Council, as Chairperson on the board of the Most Holy Redeemer Catholic Academy-St. Michael’s School, as Chairperson on the board of the Gift of Life, Inc., and as Vice President of Flushing Council on Culture and the Arts.”

“These non-profit organizations focus on helping new immigrants and less fortunate individuals so they can live the American dream,” she continued. “I strongly believe it is better to give than to receive. Everyone needs a little break; whatever help I can give might make a difference in someone’s life. This is one of the reasons I stay active and involved in these organizations.”

Since its founding in 1986, the Ellis Island Medal of Honor has been officially recognized by the House of Representatives and Senate, and each year’s recipients are read into the Congressional Record.

NECO has honored such distinguished and diverse Americans including seven U.S. presidents; Nobel laureate Elie Wiesel; Generals Norman Schwarzkopf and Colin Powell; Justice Sandra Day O’Connor; Secretaries of State Madeleine Albright, Condoleezza Rice, and Hillary Clinton; BobHope; Muhammad Ali; Frank Sinatra; and Rosa Parks — all of whom have distinguished themselves through their significant philanthropic and humanitarian contributions to this country.